top of page

Beauty Tips from Sali Hughes



My wedding has caused me to revisit hundreds of reader emails on the topic. I've always been of the view that it is a mistake to participate a lot in the concept of "bridal beauty", since by definition it in no way reflects the way you ordinarily like to seem. The white turn into tanned, hair moves up for the first time in years, poker becomes when something comfortable would be attractive, comfortable and confidence-boosting black liner , red lips and ringlets become pastels, and so on.


Nevertheless, I do acknowledge that there are particular factors that are practical. It might be a sunny day, there'll be heaps of photos taken and so many brides fear of flashback, the observable effect of an immediate flash being reflected by the SPF in base, causing a sort of ghostly, powdery white cast on the facearea.


However, their fears are for the most part unfounded. Wedding photos are shot in natural light, in which flashback is not an issue, and even those taken inside are unlikely to be taken under direct flash. Most SPF foundations will be fine -- my favourite for weddings is Giorgio Armani Power Fabric (#40) -- but if you're still concerned, you are able to eliminate risk and still remain protected by employing an SPF moisturiser, such as Superdrug's brilliant PhytoGlyc (Number12.99), under a non-SPF foundation.


I went for a sleeved dress -- not because I needed to pay for my tattoos, but because my arms seem like ham hocks -- but brides tell me they'd like to go strapless and conceal their inkings, which can be carried out. The best tools for the project are Kevyn Aucoin'sSensual Skin Enhancer (Number38, for face and Tiny areas) or Vichy's Dermablend Total Body Corrective Foundation (for big areas, #22.50). In any case, the item ought to be softened on the back of the hand, then place repeating both measures until covered. For people more concerned with the general condition of their upper arm skin at strapless, I always recommend Palmer's Anti-Ageing Smoothing Lotion (Number2.99), that works brilliantly but stinks to high heaven, or Clarins Renew-Plus Body Serum (#41), that is every bit as powerful, fine smelling -- and even pricier. Each ought to be deployed to tone, from around a month before the marriage and slough away dead skin and its related goosebumps.





join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Journey of Discovery
and Weight Loss

A year ago, I decided it’s time to change my lifestyle. This meant taking control of my life and making important decisions..

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page